Days to go until the 21st Crocodile Trophy starts in Cairns on 17th October

Moe than 100 mountain bikers will race the oldest and most iconic off-road stage race in the world this year.  

From the rainforests into the Outback and back to the beach: during the nine days from Cairns to Port Douglas the competitors from 17 countries are in for a treat: jungle, single trails, river crossings, steep climbs and fast descents, old mining towns in the Outback, huge farms and the fertile Tablelands await them.

Crocodile Trophy mountain bike (MTB) riders pass termite mounds in far Nth Queensland, Australia
This year again there are many renowned elite athletes among the riders, who will fight for the podium spots in a gripping race until the final day:  
- Greg Saw from Australia: the Crocodile Trophy Champion from 2014 will be at the start to defend his title.
- Brendan Johnston: the Australian Marathon National Champion will challenge the international contenders on his home ground.
- Urs Huber from Switzerland: one of the most successful endurance mountain bikers in the world a double Crocodile Trophy Champion
- Ondrej Foitek: this Czech racer has claimed the Crocodile Trophy victory twice as well.
- Soren Nissen from Denmark is regarded as the dark horse among the elite field.
- Nicholas Pettinà, the Italian Marathon National Champion
- David Rosa: the Portugese rider was unlucky last year when he did not finish the Crocodile Trophy due to an injury; this year he has his eyes on the overall win.
- Rotem Ishay: this nine-time National Champion from Israel will have some aces up his sleeves.

Apart from ringing names from the mountain bike athletic scene, at the start of the 21st Crocodile Trophy there will also be some interesting industry representatives:
- Koenraad Vanschoren from Belgium from BEMC, which is one of the biggest mountain bike stage races in Europe, will stay in Australia for four weeks with his family and will participate in the race.
- Joko Vogel, the organiser of the Swiss Epic event will join the event for the last three stages- For the first time we will have a Paraolympian at the start
– Arnout Matthys from Belgium will participate in the race.